Four BOOK DECORATING TRENDS THAT CONFUSE ME on Friday

IMG_8464

Four BOOK DECORATING TRENDS THAT CONFUSE ME on Friday
A bit of a tangent today.  I am a big fan of HGTV and decorating shows, and lately I have been paying more attention to how books are used in decorating, and some trends, quite frankly, really confuse me.  I have books.  I put them on shelves.  In alphabetical order.  By genre or category.  Does that make me a nerd . . . don’t answer that.  Anyway, here are a few book decorating trends that I just don’t get.

Spine In
I have to start with this one because it really confuses me!  I have seen a lot of designers on TV and in magazines who put books on the shelves with the spine facing in.  I admit that looking at all the pages is neat but honestly, how do you know what book it is!!   I understand that they are going for an esthetic feel but nothing is going to make me feel happy about my books if I can’t see the titles!!

Color Grouping
Once again, designers are going for an artistic feel, but when books are grouped by the color of their book jackets, once again there is no organization!!  When a mystery is sitting next to a non-fiction next to a medieval classic and NOT in alphabetical order . . .  Yeah, perhaps I am a bit anal in my book organization. Don’t judge.

Stacks
I have often seen books stacked up against the wall, or used even as pedestals or side tables.  I love the purposing of books for decoration and utilitarian needs, but this organization method just doesn’t work for me.  Invariably, I will want a book at the bottom of the stack, and I always seem to get neck cramps if I am trying to read the spines sideways.

Too many tchotchkes
Now I realize that books shelves can hold other things besides just books, and I too put other things on my bookshelves . . . usually to be used as bookends, for my books.  But, the main purpose in my mind of a bookshelf is to hold books!!  If I can’t see the books, that is a problem!

Okay, so now that I re-read this, I realize that I may have been a bit harsh.  I just like to be able to get to my books!  Yes, that is one of my bookshelves in the picture above.  Isn’t it pretty!  And yes, it is alphabetized and grouped by genre.  🙂

How about you? What do you think about decorating with books?

One thought on “Four BOOK DECORATING TRENDS THAT CONFUSE ME on Friday

  1. lananderson

    Oh Kristin, we are so in agreement on this topic, and I appreciated the laugh this gave me. I too love to decorate with books, and yes, bookshelves ARE for books. A few other items might land there too, but mostly books. I think it’s cozier that way especially if it isn’t organized by color!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

