Four BOOKS ON MY CHRISTMAS WISH-A-LIST on Friday

Novel Interiors Exploring English Castles Lost London the tudor tutor

Four BOOKS ON MY CHRISTMAS WISH-A-LIST on Friday
My family had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and as much as I love the dressings and the pie, and the turkey and the pie, and the mashed potatoes and the pie . . . do you see a theme . . . my favorite holiday is next on the schedule.  I LOVE Christmas!!  I love the decorations and the traditions and the music and most especially the books!  Books are a huge tradition in my family at Christmas time.  My mom always had a basket of Christmas books out from Thanksgiving to New Years and we would read and reread these holiday books during the festive season.  I love continuing this tradition with my own children.

Another great tradition that we have is that books are a major part of our gift giving.  Last year, each of my children received no less than eight books each under the Christmas tree and I foresee an increase this year!  I love to scour bookstores to try to find books that I think each of my children and husband will enjoy; of course, finding ones that they haven’t read has become increasingly challenging as they have gotten older!! 

Now to embarrass my youngest:  each year, everyone in the family puts together a wish list.  My youngest called it a “wish-a-list” from a very young age and the name has stuck.  Books are always top on our family’s wish-a-lists, and I spend the year compiling a list for myself as well.  These are books that I wouldn’t just go about and purchase for myself; I have too many on my “must read” list.  These books are rather ones that I have read about or seen at the bookstore that look really interesting but just didn’t make the cut for that trip’s purchase.  Family of mine, take note.  These are four books that I am hoping to see under the Christmas tree.  

Novel Interiors:  Living in Enchanted Rooms Inspired by Literature by Lisa Borgnes Giramonti
As you know I love decorating almost as much as I love books.  This book combines both loves!!  Rooms decorated in the style of Sense and Sensibility or the novels of Charles Dickens!?  What’s not to love?!  I see my husband NOT picking up this book for me however; I really don’t need any encouragement to redecorate.

Exploring English Castles:  Evocative, Romantic, and Mysterious True Tales of the Kings and Queens of the British Isles by Edd Morris
Have you figured out that I am quite the Anglophile?  This books is described as perfect for the “armchair historian, travel aficionado, or fan of historical fiction.”  That describes me perfectly.  Yikes.  My husband may not pick this one up either; I am ready to head to the airport at any time too.                                                                                                                     

Lost London: An A-Z of Forgotten Landmarks and Lost Traditions by Richard Guard
I love reading about the peculiar and eccentric stories of history.  I had a history professor in college that always told odd stories as part of his lessons and it made the time periods come alive.  I was able to retain and remember the facts and dates once I had some interesting tidbit of knowledge to tie to it.  This book looks to focus on those great, obscure stories.  I know that there are others in this series about different cities, but London is my go-to pick!

The Tudor Tutor: Your Cheeky Guide to the Dynasty by Barb Alexander
When the title of the book has “cheeky” in it, it has gotten my attention.  I read about a lot of different times in history and often get the details of the mixed up.  This books looks to be a great reference with a lot of humor and wit.

Anyone read any of these books and able to give me a thumbs up or down on them?  And how about you – what is on your Christmas Reading Wish-a-List?

 

Leave a Reply

