Queries and Conundrums: A Reading Challenge for 2016

book pile

Today introduces a new feature for this blog — Queries and Conundrums.  This feature will focus on random thoughts and questions about books and reading, and will hopefully encourage some dialogue and conversations.  My first Queries and Conundrums is a personal challenge.

I have seen a lot of different reading challenges for the year, and there are some really great ones out there.  One I saw, courtesy of a link from SmartGirlsRead, has readers “scaling” mountains to tackle their own TBR (to-be-read) piles.  As I look at my own personal stack, that is a very worthwhile challenge and one I intend to tackle.  But this year, I want to branch out even more, so I have created a personal challenge list that I invite you to check out.  This is my reading checklist for 2016, in true ABC fashion!

A – An Autobiography
B – A book on the Bestsellers List
C – A “new-to-me” Children’s book
D – A book that my daughter(s) tell me I should read
E – An e-book
F – A re-read of a childhood favorite
G – A graphic novel
H – A historical non-fiction book
I – An instruction book
J – A “junior” version and an original version of the same book
K – A new release kids book
L – A literary classic book
M – A book that will be made into a movie in 2016
N – A book written by a new, first-time published, author
O – A book originally published in a different language
P – A book of poetry
Q – A book with a question in the title
R – A book about a road trip
S – A book my son suggested to me
T – A re-read book that I taught when I was a high school teacher
U – A book with an ugly cover
V – A book about a villian
W – A book I was supposed to read at some point, but didn’t
X – A Xed-out banned book
Y – A young adult author I’ve never read before
Z – A book that I should read before a Zombie Apocalypse

I am not planning to go in order but will challenge myself to accomplish this by the end of the year. So . . . who’s with me?  Let me know if you are up for the challenge and if you will join me!

Leave a Reply

